SPORT NEWS – Wayne Taylor Racing declare Petit Le Mans win after late collision between leaders

Wayne Taylor Racing declare Petit Le Mans win after late collision between leaders

Renger van der Zande noticed his prime two rivals come along with solely 11 minutes remaining, opening the door for an unlikely victory for the No. 10 Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.R in Saturday’s Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Raceway Highway Atlanta.

Van der Zande, Ryan Briscoe and IndyCar title contender Scott Dixon adopted up their Rolex 24 At Daytona victory, opening an eight-point lead within the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship DPi level standings.

“I noticed the hole getting nearer and nearer,” van der Zande admitted. “We gambled with the setup. It wasn’t good at first, nevertheless it acquired higher later within the race.”

“This was huge,” Briscoe mentioned. “What a end! It reveals you by no means hand over, and fortune went our approach.”

The No. 31 Whelen Engineering Cadillac DPi-V.R was concerned in a torrid battle with the No. 7 Workforce Penske Acura ARX-05 for the ultimate two and a half hours of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race.

Pipo Derani dove to the within of Ricky Taylor with 33 minutes remaining, after which held off a number of challenges by the Acura driver. Taylor dove to the within getting into Flip 6 with 11 minutes left, with the 2 automobiles making side-by-side contact and spinning. Derani went right into a barrier and was caught in a gravel lure, whereas a charging van der Zande handed Taylor for the lead.

“I used to be within the lead, and he pushed me out on a determined transfer,” Derani mentioned.

The race was restarted with 5:21 remaining, however went again to yellow one minute later when the No. 912 Porsche 911 RSR-19 of Laurens Vanthoor and the No. 12 Lexus RC F GT3 of Townsend Bell went off. The occasion ended underneath warning.

The No. 10 Cadillac encountered electrical issues early within the race, managing to vary the battery whereas remaining on the lead lap.

Ricky Taylor completed second within the No. 7 Acura co-driven by Helio Castroneves and Alexander Rossi, with Dane Cameron taking third within the No. 6 Acura co-driven by Juan Pablo Montoya and Simon Pagenaud that dominated the primary half of the occasion. Cameron was concerned with an LMP2 automotive on the halfway level that necessitated a pit cease to vary the nostril, with the automotive by no means fairly as dominant for the rest of the race.

After watching the 2 Workforce Penske Acuras dominate the opening three-quarters of the 10-hour race, the Motion Categorical Cadillac of Derani, Felipe Nasr and Filipe Albuquerque went to the entrance. Nasr handed Rossi going into Flip 3 for the general lead with 2:24 remaining. Rossi returned the favor with 1:51 remaining in Flip 10. Six minutes later, Nasr handed Rossi, however the IndyCar veteran returned the favor on a crossover transfer.

The 2 drivers pitted with 1:15 remaining, with Derani and Taylor choosing up the combat all the way in which to the ultimate incident.

Tristan Vautier, Loic Duval and Sebastien Bourdais completed fourth within the No. 5 JDC/Miller Motorsports Cadillac, the one different automotive to finish 460 laps.

Each Multimatic-prepared Mazda RT-24Ps ran in rivalry earlier than going to the storage following incidents. Tristan Nunez was main close to the top of green-flag stops on the midway level when he acquired along with Alessandro Balzan within the No. 63 WeatherTech Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo, sending Nunez into the tires after which to the storage.

The race was slowed by six cautions, with three hours, minutes run underneath the inexperienced flag previous to the 2 late-race incidents.

In LMP2, the No. 8 Tower Motorsport by Starworks ORECA of John Farano, Mikkel Jensen and Job van Uitert got here from two laps right down to take the lead within the last hour and gained when its hardest rival went to the paddock. The No. 52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA LMP2 07-Gibson of Patrick Kelly, Simon Trummer and Scott Huffaker dominated the occasion. That was the lone retirement within the class, with the 2 remaining LMP2 automobiles ending within the prime eight general.

GTLM additionally noticed the complexion of the race change within the last hour, with the No. 911 Porsche 911 RSR-19 successful when the dominating No. 24 BMW had an additional cease as a consequence of a visit by way of the grass.

Fred Makowiecki, Nick Tandy and Matt Campbell went on to submit their first victory of the season, successful at Porsche’s residence observe.

Antonio Garcia, Jordan Taylor and Nicky Catsburg took second within the No. 3 Corvette C8.R, adopted by Jesse Krohn, John Edwards and Augusto Farfus within the No.24 Workforce RLL BMW M8 GTE. Krohn put the BMW into the lead when he handed each Corvettes on a single straight shortly after the two-hour mark. The crew then dominated up till Farfus’ off-track tour with 32 minutes remaining.

In GTD, Jeff Westphal led the opening 20 laps and the ultimate 40 in a victory for the No. 63 Scuderia Corsa WeatherTech Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo co-driven by Cooper MacNeil and Alessandro Balzan. The important thing transfer was Westphal’s cross of Jack Hawksworth with 1h7m remaining. It was the crew’s first victory of the season, and fourth for Ferrari at Petit Le Mans over the past 5 years.

Jack Hawksworth completed second within the No. 14 AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3 co-driven by Aaron Telitz and Michael De Quesada, adopted by Andy Lally, John Potter and Spencer Pumpelly within the No. 44 GRT Magnus Lamborghini Huracan GT3.

UP NEXT: The WeatherTech Championship continues at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca on Sunday, Nov. 1.

SPORT NEWS – Wayne Taylor Racing declare Petit Le Mans win after late collision between leaders


To Top