SPORT NEWS – Tander, van Gisbergen cost to Bathurst 1000 win

Tander, van Gisbergen cost to Bathurst 1000 win

In additional than a decade of racing at Bathurst, Shane van Gisbergen had finished almost every thing — he has received the 12 Hour race for GT3 automobiles, taken pole place for that race and the 1000km Supercars race and completed on the rostrum for that race. However not win it.

Twice within the final 5 years he had completed second, lower than 1s away from the win. In 2020, within the closing race of the Purple Bull Holden Racing Crew, he put that proper, together with co-driver Garth Tander.

The win didn’t come simple. Within the opening quarter of the race he needed to chase the flying Ford Mustangs of Scott McLaughlin and Cameron Waters, who shared the entrance row. And the drivers needed to put together for the long-predicted unhealthy climate, which solely simply materialized: It did rain however just for a couple of minutes, and never sufficient to pressure any of the front-runners into the pits for moist tires. But it surely was simply sufficient for van Gisbergen to make use of his wonderful wet-weather prowess to maneuver from third to the lead.

From there, he by no means seemed again.

“It’s a race you at all times need to win and it’s good to tick it off. It’s so cool,” he stated. “You don’t overlook the doubters. The automobile ran faultless all day, it simply acquired higher and higher.”

Tander, now a four-time winner, backed him up completely.

“The entire group have been incredible all week — we didn’t have one of the best automobile all week however we chipped away. As soon as Shane jumped in for the ultimate 65 laps, it was severely good to observe. It was qualifying laps all the way in which.”

Van Gisbergen could have held the lead when it counted however he needed to repel two security automobile restart assaults from Waters. ‘SVG’ did that to perfection; in actual fact, he set the quickest lap of the race on the penultimate, one hundred and sixtieth lap.

Veteran Will Davison shared the second-placed Ford with Waters, who completed simply in entrance of Chaz Mostert. His Walkinshaw Andretti United Holden Commodore lacked a fraction of the velocity to problem for the win however was expertly pushed by Mostert, the 2014 race winner, and co-driver Warren Luff, who made his sixth journey to the rostrum in 9 years. That’s a notable statistic for a person whose ‘day job’ is that of a stunt driver on the Movieworld theme park on Australia’s Gold Coast…

Fourth and fifth had been the 2 DJR Crew Penske Fords. Fabian Coulthard and co-driver Tony D’Alberto managed to achieve observe place over Scott McLaughlin/Tim Slade, after a security automobile interval fell awkwardly for them. Slade was two laps wanting the minimal 54 laps required for co-drivers, and needed to keep within the automobile (and battle late-stint cramps) as a helmeted McLaughlin watched him lose 10 seconds to the leaders. McLaughlin chased onerous however by no means managed to get better the observe place he misplaced.

Sixth was an incredible outcome for Scott Pye/Dean Fiore, whose Holden stopped in the course of the 20-minute warm-up session when the oil stress disappeared of their Team18/DeWalt Instruments entry. The group quickly acquired the automobile repaired, permitting Fiore to make regular progress within the opening two hours of the race.

Lee Holdsworth/Michael Caruso had been seventh — Holdsworth significantly hampered by a defective cool swimsuit within the closing two hours of the race — forward of the second Team18 entry of Mark Winterbottom/James Golding, which misplaced observe place within the closing pit cycle.

There have been few retirements within the race, however one was extremely important. Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes went into the race with a mixed 44 begins and 11 wins, and Lowndes made sturdy early beneficial properties. However Whincup made a rash, and uncommon, problem on Brodie Kostecki’s Holden on the exit of Griffin’s Bend and clattered into the concrete wall, and into an early bathe.

With Holden withdrawing from the Australian market in addition to racing, many would say it was a becoming finish. The Commodore might be on the observe subsequent season however not with any official backing from GM, whereas McLaughlin can also depart the grid after three straight titles and a 2019 Bathurst win, to affix Crew Penske in IndyCar. And doubts stay as as to whether Roger Penske will preserve his involvement in Supercars down beneath.

None of which might be of concern to van Gisbergen and Tander, and their group, for now. Within the subsequent few days van Gisbergen will return to New Zealand and Tander to Melbourne after lengthy absences, to be reunited with their households. Fortunately they rubber-stamped the season with an excellent efficiency.


  1. Garth Tander (Aus)/Shane van Gisbergen (NZ), Purple Bull/HRT Holden, 6h10m56.1143s

  2. Will Davison (Aus)/Cameron Waters (Aus), Tickford/Monster Power Ford, +0.866s

  3. Chaz Mostert (Aus)/Warren Luff (Aus), WAU/Home equipment On-line Holden, +1.609s

  4. Tony D’Alberto (Aus)/Fabian Coulthard (NZ), DJR Penske/Shell Ford, +2.162s

  5. Scott McLaughlin (NZ)/Tim Slade (Aus), DJR Penske/Shell Ford, +2.711s

  6. Dean Fiore (Aus)/Scott Pye (Aus), Team18/DeWalt Instruments Holden, +3.969s

  7. Lee Holdsworth (Aus)/Michael Caruso (Aus), Tickford/Truck Help Ford, +4.734s

  8. Mark Winterbottom (Aus)/James Golding (Aus). Team18/Irwin Instruments Holden. +6.138s

  9. Anton De Pasquale/Brodie Kostecki (Aus), Erebus/Penrite Oils Holden, +7.645s

  10. James Courtney (Aus)/Broc Feeney (Aus), Tickford/Enhance Cell Ford, +7.716s

Quickest lap: van Gisbergen on Lap 160, 2m05.6412s

SPORT NEWS – Tander, van Gisbergen cost to Bathurst 1000 win


To Top