SPORT NEWS – Seb and Seb dominate WRC Rally Monte Carlo prologue

Seb and Seb dominate WRC Rally Monte Carlo prologue

Sebastiens Ogier and Loeb maintain the highest two spots within the 2022 Monte Carlo Rally, the primary World Rally Championship occasion of the all-new hybrid Rally 1 period, after Thursday night time’s pair of prologue phases.

Toyota’s Ogier leads M-Sport Ford’s Loeb by 6.7s after sweeping each checks within the French Alps, the second of which included a run over the enduring Col de Turini.

Third general is Ogier’s teammate Elfyn Evans, the Welshman some 11.2s down on the eight-time and reigning WRC champ on a day when the brand new breed of hybrid Rally1 vehicles proved extra dependable than anticipated, with 11 examples beginning and 11 heading again to Monaco for the in a single day halt.

“It felt a bit bit higher in there, but it surely’s exhausting to know in the mean time the place we’re,” stated rally chief Ogier, who’s nonetheless attending to grips with the traits of his GR Yaris Rally1 and admitted to some circumspection on asphalt that had grown frosty in locations as soon as the solar went down. “We maintain making an attempt issues with the automotive, however I’m glad to be via this night time – it’s all the time a problem.”

Loeb was second to Ogier in every of the phases, ending simply 1.2s slower in his Puma Rally1 on the second, regardless of overheating his Pirelli rubber on the climb to the Col de Turini.

“We loved it,” stated the nine-time WRC champ. “It was very exhausting for the tire, so I overheated earlier than the center of the stage, then struggled a bit to maintain the automotive in a very good place, however OK.”

With Ogier and Loeb on the sharp finish, and chasing Monte Carlo Rally wins 9 and eight, respectively, Friday’s six particular phases and 60.8 aggressive miles are set to be a bottle royal between two WRC legends.

WRC Monte Carlo Rally, main positions after Prologue, SS2

1 Sebastien Ogier/Benjamin Veillas (Toyota GR Yaris Rally1) 25m48.4s
2 Sebastien Loeb/Isabelle Galmiche (M-Sport Ford Puma Rally1) +6.7s
3 Elfyn Evans/Scott Martin (Toyota GR Yaris Rally1) +11.2s
4 Adrien Fourmaux/Alexandre Coria (M-Sport Ford Puma Rally1) +17.9s
5 Gus Greensmith/Jonas Andersson (M-Sport Ford Puma Rally1) +21.9s
6 Thierry Neuville/Martijn Wydaeghe (Hyundai i20N Rally 1) +28.5s
7 Craig Breen/Paul Nagle (M-Sport Ford Puma Rally1) +29.2s
8 Ott Tanak/Martin Jarveoja (Hyundai i20N Rally 1) +41.1s
9 Takamoto Katsuta/Aaron Johnston (Toyota GR Yaris Rally1) 48.2s
10 Oliver Solberg/Elliott Edmondson (Hyundai i20N Rally 1) +58.8s

Try WRC.com, the official house of the FIA World Rally Championship. And for the last word WRC expertise, join a WRC+ subscription to observe all phases of each rally reside and on demand, each time and wherever.

SPORT NEWS – Seb and Seb dominate WRC Rally Monte Carlo prologue


To Top