SPORT NEWS – Indy Lights set for return to Belle Isle Park

Indy Lights set for return to Belle Isle Park

Rising open-wheel star David Malukas, from Chicago, In poor health., will lead a high-quality discipline of drivers representing 9 completely different nations at this weekend’s eagerly anticipated Indy Lights Grand Prix of Detroit Offered by Cooper Tires. The occasion might be held in assist of the NTT IndyCar Collection Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix offered by Lear and marks the return of the highest rung on the broadly acclaimed Street to Indy Offered by Cooper Tires open-wheel driver growth ladder to the difficult The Raceway at Belle Isle Park avenue circuit for the primary time since 2012 and solely the second time up to now 21 years.

A pair of races, one every on Saturday and Sunday, June 12-13, will comprise rounds seven and eight of the 20-race Indy Lights Offered by Cooper Tires season. The collection champion will earn a scholarship bundle valued at nearly $1.3 million to ensure entry right into a minimal of three NTT IndyCar Collection occasions in 2022, together with the 106th Indianapolis 500.

Detroit was a staple on the Indy Lights calendar between 1989 and 2000. The primary three races have been held on a 2.5-mile downtown avenue circuit centered upon the distinctive Renaissance Heart earlier than your complete occasion was relocated to Belle Isle Park in 1992. Mexican rising star Adrian Fernandez took the checkered flag that 12 months, whereas future NTT IndyCar Collection champion Tony Kanaan, from Brazil, claimed his first North American race win at Belle Isle Park in 1996. Kanaan gained once more in 1997, edging then-teammate and countryman Helio Castroneves by simply 0.335 of a second. The victory finally proved decisive as Kanaan beat Castroneves to the Indy Lights championship by simply 4 factors.

Castroneves went on to safe three NTT IndyCar Collection victories at Belle Isle in 2000, 2001 and 2014 – a document matched solely by six-time and defending collection champion Scott Dixon (the winner in 2012, 2018 and 2019) – whereas Kanaan took high honors in 2007.


blockquote class=”twitter-tweet” data-width=”550″ data-dnt=”true”>


p lang=”en” dir=”ltr”>We will’t wait to see you again on Belle Isle! <a href=”

SPORT NEWS – Indy Lights set for return to Belle Isle Park


To Top