SPORT NEWS – Castroneves/R. Taylor win Mid-Ohio for Acura

Castroneves/R. Taylor win Mid-Ohio for Acura

Helio Castroneves and Ricky Taylor got here out victorious in a wild Acura Sports activities Automobile Problem at Mid-Ohio.

It marks the third consecutive victory within the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship for the No. 7 Acura Staff Penske DPi, which retains their title aspirations alive after crossing the end line 0.607s forward of the No. 31 Motion Categorical Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R of Felipe Nasr. It additionally marked Acura Staff Penske’s third yr in-a-row to search out victory on the 13-turn, 2.258-mile everlasting street course.

The No. 10 Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi pushed by Ryan Briscoe and Renger van der Zande quietly took third. Regardless of struggling two drive-though penalties attributable to pit lane infringements, the No. 55 Mazda DPi of Jonathan Bomarito and Harry Tincknell got here away fourth.

Though Dane Cameron led early from pole within the No. 6 Acura Staff Penske DPi, it was co-driver Juan Pablo Montoya that was within the thick of the motion. The Colombian led early, however went off in Flip 6 attempting to get round lapped visitors and misplaced the lead simply previous the hour mark. From there, he continued to push and even managed to lastly discover the highest 3 as time ticked down. Nonetheless, it might finish after Montoya spun with lower than 10 minutes remaining, which relegated him to seventh.

The No. 85 Mazda DPi retired with 38 minutes remaining after Tristan Vautier reported an issue with the engine over the radio. He pulled off to the within grass of Flip 1 and introduced out the ultimate of three full-course cautions.

The outcomes tighten the championship standings, with Briscoe and van der Zande main at 180 factors, adopted by Derani at 177, with Castroneves and Taylor at 175.

Corvette Racing completed 1-2 within the GTLM class, with Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor scoring their fourth victory of the season within the No. 3 Corvette C8.R. The No. 4 sister automotive occupied by Oliver Gavin and Tommy Milner led via nearly all of the opening half of the 2h40m contest, however ended up 1.472s behind because the checkered flag waved.

Garcia and Taylor prolonged their lead on the championship, 226-209 over Gavin and Milner.

Connor De Phillippi and Bruno Spengler got here away a distant third, ending 7.530s again within the No. 25 BMW M8 GTE for BMW Staff RLL.

Jack Hawsworth and Aaron Telitz put in a methodical drive within the No. 14 Lexus RC F for AIM Vasser Sullivan to attain the GTD class win.

After beginning on pole, Telitz held the highest spot for the opening 40 minutes. Nonetheless, a sluggish pit cease relegated him to second behind title rival Matt McMurry within the No. 86 Acura NSX for Shank Racing. The setback would show to be transient, as Telitz stayed inside placing distance of the chief.

The tempo solely elevated as soon as Telitz handed it over to Hawkworth, who discovered the entrance and maintained the hole and crossed the end line by 0.858s over the No. 74 Mercedes-AMG pushed by Lawson Aschenbach and Gar Robinson. The No. 16 Porsche 911 GT3 R of Ryan Hardwick and Patrick Lengthy completed third.

Though McMurry and co-driver Mario Farnbacher have been combating for victory, all of it got here undone in Flip 1 with roughly 50 minutes remaining. Whereas attempting to return via the sphere, Farnbacher was going to the within of Paul Holton’s No. 76 McLaren 720S (Compass Racing) when the 2 made contact.

The outcome was a reduce right-front tire for Farnbacher, who ended up sliding astray and finally managed to make the sluggish crawl again to pit street. Though the incident pushed them all the way down to ninth in school, Farnbacher managed to rebound the group again as much as end fifth.

Farnbacher and McMurry nonetheless maintain the GTD title lead with 176 factors, however they’re simply three head of Telitz (173) and 5 forward of Hawksworth (171).


SPORT NEWS – Castroneves/R. Taylor win Mid-Ohio for Acura


To Top